Congratulations to Alumnus Tawanna Jordan. 2020 Klingenstein Teacher Award Winner from EL Education.

We’re proud to announce that Tawana Jordan, Master Teacher at Burns Elementary Middle School (Detroit Public Schools…

Posted by ELeducation on Thursday, October 15, 2020

We are proud to announce that Tawana Jordan, a Master Teacher at Burns Elementary Middle School in Detroit, MI received the 2020 Klingenstein Teacher Award from EL Education.

“Ms. Jordan has been with the Detroit Public Schools Community District for over 20 years and her passion for education radiates every time she enters the building. Her endless hours of work, preparation, and commitment to learning is reflected not only in her own classroom but in our entire building’s ability to achieve required growth.” – Nomination letter

Jordan will accept her award and deliver a speech at What Matters Most, the EL Education 2020 Virtual Summit on October 22. See Jordan in action in this video where she engages students in the EL Education “Read, Think, Write, Talk” framework.

The Klingenstein Teacher Award is given to an outstanding teacher who brings to life in the classroom the spirit and values of EL Education. The recipient is selected by a committee of teachers. The award includes a $5,000 cash prize. The award was established through the generous support of Lee Klingenstein, Founding Chair of the Board of Directors, who passed away earlier this year.

Tawana Jordan is the 9th teacher to receive the Klingenstein Teacher Award from EL Education. Past recipients include:

  • 2019: Sara Boeck Batista, Leaders High School, Brooklyn, NY
  • 2018: Annie Holyfield, Joe Shoemaker School, Denver, CO
  • 2017: Lindsay Slabich, The Springfield Renaissance School, Springfield, MA
  • 2016: Chris Dolgos, Genesee Community Charter School, Rochester, NY
  • 2015: Jon Exall, Odyssey School, Denver, CO
  • 2014: Beth Mowry, Brooklyn School for Collaborative Studies, Brooklyn, NY
  • 2013: Merry Byles-Daly, Grass Valley Charter School, Grass Valley, CA
  • 2013: Susan McCray, Casco Bay High School, Portland, ME

EL Education proudly recognizes and congratulates all finalists for the 2020 Klingenstein Teacher Award. These finalists, who were nominated by their peers, stand out for their remarkable service to their school communities, as well as their passion to provide students with transformative educational experiences—steeped in challenge, leadership, and contribution. Finalists for the 2020 Klingenstein Teacher Award are:

  • Mona Iehl, Polaris Charter Academy, Chicago, IL
  • Shyam Kannan, WHEELS, New York City, NY
  • Lauren Kosasa, MELS, Forest Hills, NY
  • Pamela Lovett, Hollis Innovation Academy, Atlanta, GA

Visit the EL Education website to learn more about the Educator Awards.

2 thoughts on “Congratulations to Alumnus Tawanna Jordan. 2020 Klingenstein Teacher Award Winner from EL Education.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *