Congratulations from the Detroit Alumni Chapter to Attorney Fred Gray – ASU Alumnus and Attorney at Law

The Detroit Alumni Chapter extends our congratulations to Attorney Fred Gray for receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom Award from Joe Biden, the 46th president of the United States on July 7th, 2022, at the White House in Washington DC. The award was well earned and long overdue. As a brilliant legal mind, Mr. Gray successfully represented clients as Rosa Parks, Martin Luther King and, the victims of the immoral Tuskegee Experiment that poisoned innocent people with Syphilis for a frivolous research project under the direction of the United States Government. He was responsible for stopping voter fraud by the Alabama legislature that attempted to draw district lines that attempted to disenfranchise black voters in Tuskegee Alabama. The result of his work was a Supreme Court ruling in 1960, Gomillion v. Lightfoot, when the court concluded the district was drawn in violation of the 15th amendment, with the sole purpose of depriving Black people of political power. At 91 years old as of July 2022, he is still practicing law in Tuskegee Alabama.

Putting in the work

Under the leadership of Representative Terri Sewell she and others made to the finish line with the award while he’s still alive and have the opportunity to honor him. Rep Sewell personally lobbied Vice President Kamala Harris, Cabinet members and President Biden during a plane trip to a Troy, Alabama, factory that builds weaponry for Ukrainian fighters. State Representative Cynthia A. Johnson’s advocacy was recognized by Rep. Sewell and Mr. Gray with a personal phone call from both of them. Mr. Gray personally invited Rep Johnson to Alabama while she was at a hairdresser appointment in Detroit Michigan.

Along with a email list from Professor Derryn Moten, ASU Alumni members all over the world fought for Mr. Gray to get the honor while he is still alive and well to appreciate them in front of his supporters and friends.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is an award bestowed by the president of the United States to recognize people who have made “an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.”

The Detroit Alumni Chapter wants to thank the following individuals and organizations that worked tirelessly for the nomination over the past 20 months.

Dr. Derryn Moten – Professor and Chair of History & Political Science Alabama State University.
Dr. Jonathan Entin of Case Western University School of Law
U.S. Representative Terri Sewell(Alabama) District 7 who lead the charge for the nomination through Congress and the White House.

State Representative Cynthia A. Johnson District 5- Michigan House of Representatives Lansing Michigan (2018-2020 and 2021-2022 terms).

The Presidents of Alabama colleges and universities that Gray helped to desegregate,
The Entire Alabama US Congressional Delegation
President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris


Southern Poverty Law Center – Montgomery Alabama

Alabama Political Reporter